Review: The Other, Better Me

Posted May 20, 2020 by Stephanie in Reviews / 0 Comments

Review: The Other, Better MeThe Other, Better Me by Antony John
Published by HarperCollins on October 1, 2019
Genres: Contemporary
Format: Hardcover, Audiobook
Pages: 272
Source: HarperCollins, Wunderkind PR
Barnes & Noble | The King's English | The Book Depository
Goodreads
two-stars

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.
Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been feeling incomplete, like there’s a part of herself that she can’t know until she knows her dad.
But what will happen—to Lola, to Momma, to their team of two—if she finds him?

I received this book in exchange for an honest review. No compensation was given, offered, or taken to alter the opinion forth with.

First of all, I would like to say that I really appreciate HarperCollins sending me this book to read.

This is a middle grade novel about a girl who decides that for her school project she is going to get in contact with her estranged father. Eventually, she learns to really appreciate the people in her life who have actually chosen to know and care for her and become content with the family she does have.

I think that the target audience for this book will really like the characters. Many of the adults were very vibrant characters and each character regardless of age had a very distinct and well-defined personality.

While I appreciate the chance to read this book, I do have to admit I wasn’t really a fan. It was fine, but I just didn’t love the story. I just didn’t find the main character’s search for her father very compelling as a reader, but I can see where a different reader would feel the complete opposite. There’s nothing wrong with the delivery itself though, so if this sounds like something you or a young reader may appreciate I’d say give it a try!

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other subscribers

Leave a Reply