ARC Mini Reviews | Kriss: The Gift of Wrath & Elma, a Bear’s Life

ARC Mini Reviews | Kriss: The Gift of Wrath & Elma, a Bear’s LifeKriss: The Gift of Wrath by Ted Naifeh, Warren Wucinich
Published by Oni Press on September 17, 2019
Genres: Fantasy
Format: Graphic Novel, eARC
Pages: 120
Source: NetGalley
Barnes & Noble | Amazon
Goodreads
two-stars

For fans of The Graveyard Book and Through the Woods comes a different kind of YA fantasy graphic novel, in which a teen boy's search for his destiny leads him into darkness.

Lean, ghostly pale, and permanently grim-faced, Kriss has always been an outsider in his small village. Not even his adoptive parents love him. Only Anja, the blacksmith's daughter, brings kindness and friendship into the life of the sullen teenager. But Kriss is haunted by dim memories of his true father, Erikk Iron Tooth, the king of Darkovia.

When Anja's mother is killed by a wild sabercat from the far north, the young girl's world is shattered, and Kriss determines to avenge her. Armed with only a pitchfork, the skinny teen sets out to kill the beast, only to learn that it's actually a dark spirit from Darkovia, come to bring him his destiny. The spirit grants Kriss the power to vanquish the mightiest foes, and commands him to reclaim his father's kingdom. But his gift of power comes with a price — uncontrollable rage. And leaving the village would mean leaving Anja, the only person who's always been there for him. Kriss must choose between his destiny and Anja, who needs his friendship more than ever. But his growing power, and the fiery anger that comes with it, threatens to make the choice for him, and burn everything he holds dear.

I received this book in exchange for an honest review. No compensation was given, offered, or taken to alter the opinion forth with.

I really liked the premise for this graphic novel; I think it had a lot going for it. However, I felt like the story was a bit rushed and Kriss’s story could have been a lot more flushed out than it was. The art was fine, but I wish there had been more reaction panels instead of there being dialogue in nearly every picture. I really enjoy those reaction panels in graphic novels and I think adding those into the mix brings some depth into the story.

The characters were all pretty one dimensional and with such an interesting premise I think there was a lot of room to have interesting characters. Some of it was a bit confusing in the beginning and I couldn’t always tell who was speaking.

ARC Mini Reviews | Kriss: The Gift of Wrath & Elma, a Bear’s LifeElma, a Bear's Life (1. The Great Journey) by Ingrid Chabbert, Léa Mazé
Published by Europe Comics on June 12, 2019
Genres: Adventure
Format: eARC, Graphic Novel
Pages: 43
Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

Elma is a joyful, free-spirited child who is being raised by a bear she thinks of as her father. But Papa Bear is hiding a secret, and the close-knit duo must make a long and perilous journey to begin a mysterious new life beyond the forest. Adventure and danger are in store as they discover the linked secrets of Elma’s past and future.

I received this book in exchange for an honest review. No compensation was given, offered, or taken to alter the opinion forth with.

I really enjoy the colors in the artwork here. The story was cute and I really enjoyed the sweet relationship between Elma and Papa Bear; there is a bit of intrigue in it so while I won’t be continuing with any sequels I think it ends on an appropriate cliffhanger for a young reader.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other subscribers


Leave a Reply