Review: The Red Fox Clan | Action. Treachery. What More Could I Want?

Review: The Red Fox Clan | Action. Treachery. What More Could I Want?The Red Fox Clan (Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger #2) by John Flanagan
Series: The Royal Ranger #2
Published by Philomel Books on August 21, 2018
Genres: High Fantasy
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 352
Barnes & Noble | IndieBound
Goodreads
four-stars

#1 New York Times bestselling author John Flanagan returns to the world of Ranger's Apprentice, continuing the story arc starring fan favorites, Will and Maddie (The Royal Ranger: A New Beginning).

Picking up where The Royal Ranger: A New Beginning left off, this next installment continues the story arc featuring young apprentice, Maddie, and the student-turned-master, Will Treaty. The time has come for the next generation to assume the mantle and become protectors of the kingdom of Araluen.

After passing her third-year assessment as a ranger's apprentice, Maddie is called home to Castle Araluen. Forced to keep her ranger training a secret, Maddie feels trapped by the monotony of castle life and longs to find a way out. But there are whisperings of a new threat to the kingdom. The mysterious Red Fox Clan, a group of anarchists all donning fox masks, have threatened Castle Araluen and question Princess Cassandra and Madelyn's succession to the throne. Will they succeed in unseating Cassandra and Madelyn and take the throne for themselves?

Bestselling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan returns in the captivating follow-up to The Royal Ranger: A New Beginning. Perfect for fans of Tolkien, Redwall, and Game of Thrones!

Okay. I admit it. I was slightly apprehensive about following Maddie’s journey as a Ranger. She is the first female Ranger, which presents some challenges, but nothing that can’t be overcome. I’ve definitely warmed up to her though.

I absolutely loved that this book showed us a bit more of what the Ranger Gathering looks like. I’ve always been curious about what exactly it looked like, but Flanagan has only ever shown pieces of it. It was fun and a great way to start the book.

I grew to like Maddie more as the book went on but I was a tad sad that Will and Halt weren’t in the book more. However, I definitely understand why they weren’t. This is the first book that Maddie really gets a lot of room to shine and as our main character. It is important for Flanagan to give us some space between her and the other prominent Rangers we know and love, so I understand this decision. With that said, we did get to see Horace and Gilan in action and that’s always fun.

I do feel the need to say that Maddie’s relationship with her horse is probably one of the best things ever.

I did really love seeing Maddie grow throughout the course of the story, and seeing Cassandra get a chance to really run the show in this book was also nice. Cassandra has never been one of my favorite characters, but she is incredibly tough and that really comes through.

This book was jam packed with action and intrigue, with a dash of treachery. What better to have in a story takes place in or near a castle though? After finishing this book I definitely wanted to go back and pick up The Ruins of Gorlan, which I think is a good thing.

All in all, this is a great addition to the Ranger’s Apprentice world and a great start to a promising new series.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other subscribers


Leave a Reply